Paulo Wanderley takes office as president and begins mandate at the head of the COB

The Assembly also had the sworn in of Vice President Marco La Porta and the new members of the Board of Directors and the Athletes Commission

Paulo Wanderley takes office as president and begins mandate at the head of the COB
Camila Dantas/COB

After winning the most democratic election in the history of the Brazilian Olympic Committee (COB) in October 2020, Paulo Wanderley Teixeira and Marco Antônio La Porta Júnior took office and began their mandates as president and vice president of the entity for the 2021-2024 cycle. The solemnity took place on the morning of Tuesday, the 12th, through a virtual Extraordinary General Assembly, due to the current pandemic scenario.

"We have created, executed, and implemented many projects since October 2017. Our administration has always been based on transparency, austerity, and meritocracy. Now we will add two more pillars: excellence and competence. This is how we will continue the work, with the fundamental partnership of the Confederations, the Athletes Commission, the Special Office for Sport, the federations, the clubs, and everyone who makes up the productive chain of the Brazilian Olympic sport. I practice the protagonism of everyone. We are a chain, and every link is important," said Paulo Wanderley, who was sworn in by COB Athletes Commission president Tiago Camilo.

For this cycle, Paulo Wanderley intends to expand the GET program (Management, Ethics, and Transparency), including the confederations that are part of the Pan American Games, review the criteria for the distribution of lottery resources, with the participation of the confederations, provide administrative, financial, and legal support to meet the needs of the Athletes Commission, continue investing in the Olympic Preparation Program (PPO), increase the resources allocated to the area of Sports Development, and create the Women in Olympic Sports program, with projects focused exclusively on the female segment.

"Today is a new beginning. I reiterate the importance of the whole sports chain's unity, because without unity you cannot get anywhere. And our only objective should be the improvement of the Brazilian Olympic sport, with the COB conducting this process," said Paulo Wanderley, who will be the first president in history to lead the COB in two editions of the Summer Olympic Games in the same term.

The first of these will begin on July 23, 2021 in Tokyo (Japan), marking the beginning of a series of sports challenges that this administration will face until the end of 2024.

"I thank Paulo Wanderley's trust, who honored me with the invitation to be vice president in this very challenging quadriennium. We will have three Olympic Games in four years, apart from the Pan American and South American Games. We start with Tokyo, in this scenario of uncertainty, and with many events in sequence. It can be challenging, but together we will be ready to represent Brazil in the best way possible," said Marco La Porta. 

Besides the sports actions, the COB will put into practice in this four-year period the Program for the Prevention and Confrontation of Racism in Sports, it will increase actions in sustainability, which reduce the environmental impact on the Brazilian Olympic Movement, and it will further strengthen the Olympic memory, with the expansion of the Hall of Fame project, which will have a digital platform and will continue to honor ten national sports idols every year. 

Since October 11, 2017, when he took over the presidency of COB, Paulo Wanderley has made several changes in the entity, such as revision of contracts, cut of expenses, presentation of new by-laws, which started to be updated every two years, creation of the Board of Directors and the Ethics Council, besides the hiring of a Compliance Leader, which started to manage the Ombudsman Channel, enlargement of the Athletes Commission to 25 members, with 19 of them voting in the General Assembly from this cycle on, and signed a partnership with UN Women for the elaboration of the Policy of Prevention and Confrontation to Harassment and Sexual Abuse.

Board of Directors and Athletes Commission

The Assembly was also marked by the sworn in of the new members of the Board of Directors and the Athletes' Commission, essential bodies for a better entity governance.

The Board of Directors will consist of the following members in this quadrennium: Jose Luiz Vasconcellos (CBC), Karl Anders Ivar Pettersson (CBDN), Matheus Figueiredo (CBDG), Raphael Nishimura (ABEE), Alberto Cavalcanti Maciel Junior (CBTKD), Silvio Acácio Borges (CBJ), Ernesto Teixeira Pitanga (CBTri), and Ricardo Leyser Gonçalves, the latter being an independent member, i.e., with no ties to the Brazilian Olympic Confederations. Besides them, they are also part of the collegiate: the COB president (Paulo Wanderley), COI members (Andrew Parsons and Bernard Rajzman), and the president and vice president of CACOB.

The 25 members of the Athletes Commission will be: Poliana Okimoto (water sports), Yane Marques (modern pentathlon), Duda Amorim (handball), Adriana Aparecida (athletics), Baby Futuro (rugby), Fernanda Nunes (rowing), Iziane Castro (basketball), Bárbara Seixas (volleyball), Isabel Swan (sailing), Ana Sátila (canoeing), Diogo Silva (taekwondo), Gustavo Guimarães (water sports), Rodrigo Santana (volleyball), Fabiano Peçanha (athletics), Thiagus Petrus (handball), Lucas Duque (rugby), Francisco Barretto (gymnastics), Edson Bindilatti (ice sports), Juan Nogueira (boxing), Arthur Zanetti (gymnastics), Emerson Duarte (shooting), Hortência Marcari (basketball), Jefferson Sabino (athletics), Clodoaldo do Carmo (athletics) and Joana Cortez (tennis).

Other news + Full list